Loading...

Injured in an accident? Contact Now

Riverside Car Accident Laws and How They Affect Your Case

Riverside Car Accident Laws and How They Affect Your Case

This article is for informational purposes only, please see our disclaimer for more details.

If you’ve been injured in a car accident in Riverside, you have certain obligations when it comes to reporting the accident. Here, we’ll walk you through what you should do in the case of an auto accident, as well as the laws regarding at fault drivers, financial responsibility, and other laws that could impact your case.

Reporting The Accident

In any Riverside car accident involving death or injury, California state law says all drivers involved in the accident or their representatives must file a report within 24 hours of the accident to the local police or to California Highway Patrol.

Do note that if a police officer has reported to the scene of the accident, they must file a report themselves. This means that you do not need to report the accident.

Reporting To The DMV

In many cases, you’ll have to report the accident to the DMV within ten days. Accidents that meet any of the following criteria must be reported:

  • There were personal injuries
  • There was property damage in excess of $750
  • Someone was killed

Do I Have To Contact My Insurance Company?

California law has no requirements when it comes to insurance companies, meaning filing a report to your insurer is at your discretion. But in just about every accident case, you’ll want to report the accident to your insurance company as soon as possible.

That’s because insurance companies can deny you coverage if your accident is not reported within “a reasonable period of time.” This time period is intentionally vague, allowing insurers to claim that the accident was not reported promptly. They may even deny cases that were not reported within a day or two.

Even if your accident was minor, you should report it within a day to your insurance company.

Who’s To Blame For The Accident?

California determines vault by comparative negligence. What that means is that blame for an accident is broken down into percentages.

If you aren’t found to be partially at fault in your accident, this will impact how much you will earn from your claim. If you are found to be 30% at fault, this means you will likely receive 30% less than you would have if the other driver had been entirely to blame for the accident.

Do I Have A Riverside Car Accident Case?

Knowing the value of your case after an accident can be difficult. That’s why you should get in touch with an experienced Riverside car accident lawyer as soon as possible.

At Montgomery Steele, we have years of experience fighting for our clients, winning them maximum compensation. Contact us today if you have any questions about your case, or fill out our free case evaluation form.

Free Case Evaluation

Only pay if we win! Fill out the form below, and let's figure out if you have a winning case. It's 100% free and you only pay if we win.

© 2019 Montgomery Steele. All rights reserved. Legal Marketing by Legal Legends